Castroviejo Award Nomination for 2020

Each year the Cornea Society names an outstanding individual in the field of cornea and anterior segment to receive the Castroviejo Medal, and to deliver the Castroviejo Lecture at the Society’s scientific symposium at the American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting. The medal is the Society’s highest award and is given in recognition of exceptional contributions in support of the Society’s mission: to promote knowledge, research and understanding in cornea, external disease and refractive surgery. The award is named for Ramon Castroviejo, MD, the father of modern corneal transplant surgery and the inspiration for the founding of Cornea Society.

The Cornea Society is currently accepting nominations for the 2020 Castroviejo Award to be presented at the Society sponsored Symposium in November 2020.

Note: current members of the Cornea Society Board of Directors are not eligible to receive this Award.

Previous Castroviejo Awardees:

2019 John KG Dart, MA, DM, FRCOphth
2018 Alan Sugar, MD
2017 Jonathan Lass, MD
2016 Dimitri Azar, MD
2015 Elisabeth J. Cohen, MD
2014 Mark J. Mannis, MD
2013 Edward J. Holland, MD
2012 James P. McCulley, MD
2011 Joel Sugar, MD
2010 Richard L. Lindstrom, MD
2009 H. Dwight Cavanagh, MD, PhD
2008 Shigeru Kinoshita, MD
2007 W. Bruce Jackson, MD, FRCS
2006 Jay H. Krachmer, MD
2005 Gary N. Foulks, MD
2004 George Waring, III, MD
2003 Ronald Smith, MD
2002 David Easty, MB, ChB
2001 Teruo Nishida, MD
2000 William Bourne, MD
1999 Henry Edelhauser, MD
1998 Michael Lemp, MD
1997 Jules Baum, MD
1996 Deborah Pavan-Langston, MD

1995 Richard Forster, MD
1994 Barrie R. Jones, MB, ChB
1993 Anthony J. Bron, MD
1992 Richard A. Thoft, MD
1991 Peter R. Laibson, MD
1990 Richard C. Troutman, MD
1989 S. Arthur Boruchoff, MD
1988 Frank Polack, MD
1987 Herbert Kaufman, MD
1986 David Maurice, MD
1985 Phillips Thygeson, MD
1984 Yves I. Pouliquen, MD
1983 Alberto Urrets-Zavalia, MD
1982 Saiichi Michima, MD
1981 Claes H. Dohlman, MD
1980 A. Edward Maumenee, MD
1979 Max Fine, MD
1978 David G. Cogan, MD
1977 Jose I. Barraquer, MD
1976 Ramon Catroviejo, MD
1975 A. Gerarld Devoe,MD