Home > About > History


The Society was conceived and organized during the Pan American Association of Ophthalmology meeting in San Juan, Puerto Rico, in May 1975, largely through the efforts of Frank M. Polack, MD, and colleagues. It is interesting to note that significant efforts were made by some individuals to name the organization the "American Corneal Society"; nonetheless, the Society was to carry the Castroviejo namesake.

The Society’s first meeting was held in the fall of 1975 during the week of the American Academy of Ophthalmology meeting in Dallas, Texas, and the initial officers were Dr. Fernando Losada (President), Dr. Hernando Cardona (Vice President), and Dr. Frank Polack (Secretary-Treasurer). It was agreed that the Castroviejo Society would be a scientific society of international character, devoted to the knowledge of diseases of the cornea and anterior segment of the eye.

In 2002, the Board of Directors officially changed the name of the Society to The Cornea Society in keeping with its broadening character and mission.